COOJA and Testbed Federation/TWIST growing together

Two COOJA plugins and manuals have been published to integrate the TWIST testbed in COOJA and to take checkpoints and perform rollbacks both in TWIST and COOJA.

Call for Papers: CONET/UBICITEC 2013

The 4th International Workshop on Networks of Cooperating Objects for Smart Cities 2013 (CONET/UBICITEC 2013), colocated with CPSWeek 2013, accepts submissions until January 28th, 2013.

Newsletter issue #19

The 19th CONET newsletter has been published. You can read on Virtual Organizations for Multi-Model Based Embedded Systems and on the UvA Bird Tracking System.

Current Page: MembershipCore PartnersUCL

University College London (UCL), UK

 The Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering at UCL was established by Professor Sir Ambrose Fleming in 1885 and currently hosts world-leading research groups in Communications and Information Systems (CIS), Photonics, Optical Networks, Microwaves, Radar and Optics, Electronic Materials and Devices, and Nanotechnology. People with CIS are working on a wide range of research projects in the areas of wired and wireless broadband multimedia communications sponsored by industry, the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) UK, and the European Union. The CIS group is very well equipped with an excellent range of software and hardware facilities and infrastructure, e.g. test and measurement equipments covering the data and frequency range from few MHz to 40 Gbps and 110 GHz, to enable it to undertake far-reaching research projects.


Researchers at CIS group have recently designed and built a wireless sensor node and control software in the 2.4GHz ISM band for a Medical Monitoring Application. The design goal was to ensure energy-efficient wireless communications between the sensor nodes, so as to enable “invisible” remote sensing and frequent data collection over a long period of time.


Dr. Yang Yang is a Lecturer in Telecommunications at the Department. He has published more than 40 refereed journal/conference papers in the areas of wireless communications, covering the 3G mobile systems and beyond, MAC protocols, routing algorithms, and wireless ad hoc and sensor networks. He is on the Editorial Board of Journal of Wireless Communications and Mobile Computing (Wiley), and is a guest editor of the special issue “Network Coverage and Routing Schemes for Wireless Sensor Networks” for Journal Computer Communications (Elsevier) and a guest editor of the special issue “Wireless Mesh Networks: Applications, Architectures and Protocols” for IEEE Network Magazine. He was the IEEE Standards Coordinator for Europe, Africa and Middle East (2006) and is an active member of Wireless Sensing Interests Group in the UK. His recent research has been supported by the EPSRC, Royal Society, Royal Academy of Engineering, BT, Vodafone, SELEX, Toshiba and Airbus.


Dr. John E. Mitchell is currently a Senior Lecturer in Telecommunications at the Department. He has published over 40 papers in the area. His research is focused on access networks (optical and wireless) for the delivery of high speed data. Recently he has worked on wireless monitoring devices, including a collaboration with UCL BioMedia and the Royal National Orthopaedic Hospital to develop a wireless device for a medical monitoring application. He has served many international conferences as organising/technical committee chair. He is active with the EU FP6 Network of Excellence ePhoton/ONe and the IEE Communications, Networks and Services Profession Network, serving on its Executive Team.


Professor Izzat Darwazeh is currently a Professor  in Telecommunications Engineering, Head of CIS group and the Director of UCL Telecommunications for Industry Programme. His research interests are mainly in the areas of wireless system design and implementation, high speed optical communication systems and networks, microwave circuits and MMICs. He has authored/co-authored more than 120 research papers and two books. Recent research collaborations with industry include Nortel, Nokia, BT, Vodafone, and France Telecom.