COOJA and Testbed Federation/TWIST growing together

Two COOJA plugins and manuals have been published to integrate the TWIST testbed in COOJA and to take checkpoints and perform rollbacks both in TWIST and COOJA.

Call for Papers: CONET/UBICITEC 2013

The 4th International Workshop on Networks of Cooperating Objects for Smart Cities 2013 (CONET/UBICITEC 2013), colocated with CPSWeek 2013, accepts submissions until January 28th, 2013.

Newsletter issue #19

The 19th CONET newsletter has been published. You can read on Virtual Organizations for Multi-Model Based Embedded Systems and on the UvA Bird Tracking System.

Current Page: News Archive

EWSN 2012/CONET Master and PhD Thesis Awards

*** Extended deadline for applications: December 31st, 2011 ***


The Chairs of the 9th European Conference on Wireless Sensor Networks (EWSN 2012) and the CONET Consortium are pleased to announce the Master and PhD Thesis Award Competitions in the area of Cooperating Objects. The prize is donated by CONET, the Cooperating Objects Network of Excellence.


Cooperating Objects combine the strong functional aspects of embedded systems, pervasive computing and wireless sensor networks. Cooperating objects entities federate themselves into dynamic and loose networks in order to reach a common goal. This common goal will typically be related to sensing or control.


Theses eligible for the competition

  • have to be written in English;
  • have to be supervised to a major part by an official European university (EU and EFTA);
  • and have to completed between Dec 1st, 2010 and Nov 30th, 2011.

Candidates must submit the following materials (in English) in electronic format until Dec 31st, 2011:

  • Application letter, including the name of the student, the title of the thesis, its duration, and its date of completion, the date of the defense, the overall grade and a report on the outstanding contributions of the thesis.
  • Letter of recommendation from Advisor.
  • The thesis itself.

Submission of a single document file in PDF format must be done thru EDAS at


The award will be assessed by CONET members. Criteria for selecting the winner are scientific originality, scientific significance for the field of Cooperating Objects, quality of the presentation and potential for practical application. Each category of thesis (MSc or PhD) will have separate prizes assigned by separate academic and industrial juries, for a total of 4 prizes:

  • MSc Academic - 250 Euros
  • MSc Industrial - 250 Euros
  • PhD Academic - 500 Euros
  • PhD Industrial - 500 Euros

The jury can decide not to award some of the prizes if the quality or significance of the submitted works is not relevant. The jury will decide on which track the thesis will be evaluated. The winners of each category will be awarded during EWSN 2012.


If you have questions concerning the awards please contact Paulo Gandra de Sousa at